Scroll to content
Horsley and Mapperley Federation home page

Horsley and
Mapperley Federation



All staff and volunteers at The Horsley and Mapperley Federation of CE Primary Schools take the safeguarding and protection of children extremely seriously and understand that safeguarding is every-one’s responsibility. The best interest of the child always guides what we do and how we act.

Safeguarding refers to all children, whilst Child Protection refers distinctly to children who are suffering, or at risk of suffering harm. Serious risk of harm may arise from a single event or a serious of concerns over time.


The Designated Safeguarding Lead is the Executive Head teacher Mr Richard Cripps.

The Deputy Designated Safeguarding Leads are Mrs Donna Bennett Mrs Stacey Hudson, Mrs Adele Marriott & Mrs Hayley Marshall.

The Safeguarding Governor is Ms Kate Halls.


There is a whole school approach to safeguarding which includes whole staff training and safeguarding issues are discussed at staff meetings. We have local and national policies, protocols and reporting procedures in place to help us keep children safe. Keeping children safe is included in the curriculum and discussed during assemblies. The schools take part in national events such as Safer Internet Day, NSPCC TalkPANTS and Anti-Bullying Week.

We understand that no one person can have a full picture of a child’s circumstances, so early help and appropriate information sharing with the relevant persons or organisations is vital.


Concerns about the conduct of a member of staff or volunteer                   

If you are concerned about the conduct of any member of staff or volunteer this must be reported to the head teacher/DSL immediately. If the concern is about the head teacher then report immediately to the Chair of Governors. The concern will then be referred to the Local Authority Designated Officer (LADO).


Further contacts

Derby & Derbyshire Safeguarding Partnership:

For referrals  01629 533190   

NSPCC 0808 800 5000               Ofsted 0300 123 1231                                                                  

Government helpline for extremism concerns 020 7340 7264